promote social justice by improving living and working conditions in all parts of the world. Canada has been a member of the ILO from its inception and as a leading industrial state has been assigned a non-elective seat on the governing body.

The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) established in 1945 is one of the largest of the specialized agencies, with 143 members. Raising the nutrition levels and living standards of its member countries and improving production and distribution techniques for food, agriculture, fishery and forest products are two of its objectives. The FAO secretariat provides advisory services, collects and publishes agricultural and fisheries statistics, and organizes international conferences and meetings of experts.

FAO has headquarters in Rome and offices in Washington, Bangkok, Rio de Janeiro, Santiago and Cairo. Canada participates in FAO functions and is a member of the FAO council, the committee on commodity problems, the committee on fisheries, the consultive subcommittee on surplus disposals, the FAO group on grains, the North American forestry commission and other FAO bodies. The FAO-WHO food standard program is administered by an executive committee of which Canada is a member.

The world food program was established under the joint auspices of the FAO and the UN to provide food aid on a multilateral basis for emergency relief, including the feeding of children, and to promote economic and social development. Its approved target for pledges for 1978-79 was \$950 million. Canada pledged \$190 million to the twoyear program and is the second largest contributor. A Canadian and former chief commissioner of the Canadian Wheat Board is executive director of the program.

The World Health Organization (WHO), with 151 members and two associate members, is a directing and co-ordinating authority on international health matters. The objective is the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health; WHO provides advisory and technical services from its Geneva headquarters to help countries develop and improve their national health services.

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) was established in 1946 to contribute to peace and security by promoting collaboration among nations through education, science and culture to further universal respect for justice, the rule of law, human rights and fundamental freedoms. Its headquarters is in Paris and membership is 144 states.

UNESCO has three main components — a general conference which is the policymaking body, an executive board and a secretariat. Representatives from member states make up the general conference which meets every two years.

The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), with headquarters in Montreal, was established in 1947 to promote the safe, orderly and economic development of international civil aviation. It had a membership of 142 in 1978. Canada has been a member of the 30-nation council, the governing body of ICAO, since its inception, as a state of chief importance in air transport.

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU), founded to oversee application of the international telegraph convention of 1865 and the international radio and telegraph convention of 1906, is concerned with international co-operation for improvement and use of telecommunications for the benefit of the general public; it has 154 member countries. Canada is represented on the 36-member administrative council, the executive organ of the ITU.

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) came into being in January 1974 to protect intellectual property, such as patents and copyright, and to ensure administrative co-operation among the 11 organizations or unions established for these purposes.

The World Meteorological Organization (WMO), a specialized agency of the UN since 1951, has evolved from an international meteorological organization founded in 1878; in 1978 WMO had 148 members. One of its major programs is the world weather watch for developing an improved worldwide meteorological system and environment. Canada is represented on the organization's executive committee.